America in My Own Words…My Impression as USG Alumnus

Tamerat G.Giorgis

Managing Editor

Fortune, Independent News & Media Agency

Tamrat-woldegiorgis

The most overpowering experience visiting a new place is perhaps the cultural shock one ought to go through before a semblance of normalcy sink in. I lived through one or two such incidents during my inaugural visit to the United States back in the mid 1990s, when I went there for a fellowship in journalism.

Growing up in the bustling yet crowded city of Addis Ababa, a momentary life experience in the suburb of Akron, Ohio, was like landing on a different planet. It took me a couple of weeks to internalize my sense of alienation and loneliness, walking in the downtown Akron which looked to me a kind of “ghost town.”

A long time afterwards, I accepted the privilege of covering the presidential campaign of 2008, where I boarded a bus cruising through the interstates of the Midwest, and realized Americans are either too busy minding their own business or prefer to stay in, if they are at home. I was inside a theatre once, along many other fellows, a few days after I had arrived in Washington, D.C. One of them passed out chewing gum along the row; I had one which I unwrapped the cover and threw the paper right before everyone. My sense of shock of my gruffness took a couple of seconds to hit home. The importance in which Americans attach to preserve their public space while safeguarding their individuality is an unforgettable lesson that reshaped my worldview, from its core I must admit.

So is this true in my professional life. My fellowship and the series of trainings I have taken in the United States over the past 17 years were life-changing in their impact on me. In every program I participated and every establishment I have been too, the central message remains continued effort and dedication in whatever we do isn’t a losing wager.  They call America the land of the brave and the free. I might add, it is also a place of knack and flair, in large part.

የአሜሪካ  የልምድ  ልውውጥ  ፕሮግራም  ትውስታዬ

በታምራት ገድለጊዮርጊስ

ማኔጂንግ ኤዲተር

ፎርቹን ጋዜጣ

የማናውቀውን አዲስ አካባቢ ስንጎበኝ፤ ቦታውን እስክንላመድ ድረስ ከሚሰሙን ሀያል ስሜቶች መካከል፤ የባህል ልዩነት የሚፈጥረው ውስጣዊ ንዝረት ከፍተኛውን ሥፍራ ይይዛል፡፡ እ.ኤ.አ በ1990ዎቹ አጋማሽ በጋዜጠኝነት ሙያ ልምድ ለመቅሰም ባገኘሁት ዕድል፤ ለመጀመሪያ ጊዜ ወደ አሜሪካ በተጓዝኩበት ወቅት የዚህ አይነት ክስተት አንዴ ወይም ሁለቴ አጋጥሞኛል፡፡

እንቅስቃሴ በበዛባት ነገር ግን በተጨናነቀች አዲስ አበባ ያደኩ ቢሆንም፤ በኦሃዮ-አክሮን ያደረኩት አጭር ቆይታ፤ ልክ ልዩ ፕላኔት ላይ የማረፍ ያህል ነበር፡፡ “የሙት መንፈስ ከተማ” “Ghost Town” መስላ በታየችኝ በአክሮን እምብርት በነበረኝ ቆይታ፤ በውስጤ ከሚሰማኝ የብቸኝነትና የመገለል ስሜት ለመላቀቅ ሁለት ሳምንት ያህል ፈጅቶብኛል፡፡

ከረጅም ጊዜ ቆይታ በኋላ፤ የ2008 የአሜሪካ ፕሬዚደንታዊ ምርጫን የመዘገብ መልካም አጋጣሚ አገኘሁ፡፡ ምርጫውን ለመዘገብ በመካከለኛው ምዕራብ የሚገኙ ግዛቶችን የሚያቆራርጥ አውቶቡስ ስሳፈር አንድ ያስተዋልኩት ነገር ቢኖር፤ አሜሪካውያን በራሳቸው  ጉዳይ በእጅጉ የተጠመዱ ወይም ደግሞ ቤታቸው ውስጥ ያሉት በቤታቸው መቆየትን የመረጡ መሆናቸውን ነበር፡፡ ዋሽንግተን ዲ.ሲ በደረስኩ በጥቂት ቀናት ውስጥ፤ ከሌሎች መሰሎቼ ጋር  ትያትር ቤት ገባሁ፡፡ ከመካከላችን አንዱ በመደዳ ለተቀመጥነው ማስቲካ አደለ፡፡ እኔም የደረሰኝን ማስቲካ ሽፋኑን በመላጥ ወረቀቱን ፊትለፊታችን ጣልኩት፡፡ በሰከንድ ልዩነት ባደረኩት ያልተገባ ተግባር ውስጤን የሀፍረት ስሜት ወረረው፡፡ አሜሪካውያን የግል ነጻነታቸውን በመጠበቀ፤ የህዝብ መጠቀሚያ ሥፍራዎችን በጋራ ከመንከባከብ አኳያ ለጉዳዩ የሚሰጡት ልዩ ትኩረት ስለዓለም ያለኝን አመለካከት የቀየረ የማይረሳ ትምህርት ሰጥቶኛል፡፡

ይህ በሙያየም ላይ እውን ሆኗል፡፡ በአሜሪካ ያገኘሁት የአጭር ጊዜ የትምህርት ዕድልና ባለፉት 17 ዓመታት የወስድኳቸው ተከታታይ ስልጠናዎች ህይወቴን ቀይረዋል፡፡ከተሳተፍኩበት እያንዳንዱ ፕሮግራምና ከጎበኘሁት እያንዳንዱ ተቋም ያገኘሁት ዋና መልዕክት፤ በምንሰራው ማንኛውም ነገር ተከታታይ ጥረት ማድረግና ለስራችን ታማኝ መሆን የተበላ ቁማር እንዳልሆነ ነው፡፡ አሜሪካውያን  አገራቸውን የደፋሮችና የነጻ ሰዎች አገር ብለው ይጠራሉ፡፡ እኔም አሜሪካ በአብዛኛው የትጉሃንና የልዩ ፈጠራ ባለቤት የሆኑ ሰዎች አገር የሚለውን ማከል እወዳለሁ፡፡

3 thoughts on “America in My Own Words…My Impression as USG Alumnus

  1. Pingback: America in My Own Words…My Impression as USG Alumnus | Ethiopia Observer

  2. Even though I have never been to the United States of America – the land of fortunes, I have seen most of my friends, relatives, brothers and sisters became somebody. Whereas if they have been here they might not even achieve none of it. Thanks to the USA !!!

    Like

    • You are right , and actually its a fact now !

      And I thanks US too . May like a drop of spoon from almighty of USA given to Ethiopia !!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

