Black History Month: Working to Realize Dr. King’s Dream Through Community Service

Our final story from The Historic Ebenezer Baptist Church is how Angel Padget, Graduate of Emory University School of Nursing, is advancing Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s dream through persistence in pursuit of her own dreams, and sharing her gifts with others through community service.

Dr. King has inspired me to never give up on my dream. As an African American woman, it is hard to live in this society and be really successful. I was waitlisted at two nursing schools and being frustrated I almost gave up on my dream. My best friend encouraged me to apply at Emory University, a prestigious private school. I felt as though I didn’t have a high enough GPA to be accepted. Little did I know I was not only accepted, but also given a full ride academic scholarship. I’ve learned to never give up and my dream will become reality if I just believe in myself.
I have been extremely involved in community service since I was in middle school. I went to read to the preschoolers every week that lived in areas with lower economic statuses. This humbled me and also made me realize that teaching was also a passion of mine. Every year my family gives Christmas gifts to the homeless, children’s hospital and nursing homes. In college I was the Director of Community Service because I realize that we need to help everyone and let those less fortunate understand that their lives matter to us no matter how wide our salary gap is. Community service is a huge part of my life and I will be forever grateful for the path that Dr. King has given us.
As part of our Black History Month celebration this year, we want to highlight that it’s also history in the making, and share the idea that anyone can be a hero. We’re sharing a series of stories about the community at the Historic Ebenezer Baptist Church of Atlanta Georgia. The church has been a part of the community since 1886 and the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. served as co-pastor alongside his father. Today the church hosts a congregation of over 6,000 people and continues to serve the Atlanta community and beyond. Join us in learning how a group of impressive young leaders from this historic church continue to be inspired by Dr. King’s vision and to inspire others through community service.

One thought on “Black History Month: Working to Realize Dr. King’s Dream Through Community Service

Leave a comment